Carrie Underwood’s new rendition of the Sunday Night Football opening will be released September 8, featuring Joan Jett. “Waiting All Day for Sunday Night” will also feature 13 NFL players including Julio Jones, Kyle Fuller, Khalil Mack, Mitch Trubisky, Baker Mayfield, Dak Prescott, Patrick Mahomes, Jared Goff, Kirk Cousins, Carson Wentz, Zach Ertz, Fletcher Cox and Russell Wilson.

From 2013 to 2015, Carrie opened SNF with “Waiting All Day for Sunday Night,” which is based on Joan’s “I Hate Myself for Loving You.” The re-tooled song replaces “Game On,” which was featured during the 2018 season. Carrie said. “What better way to pay homage to the original SNF opening song than by getting to play with Joan Jett on primetime’s biggest stage?

Sunday Night Football on NBC will debut on Sunday, Sept. 8 when the New England Patriots host the Pittsburgh Steelers. Watch a sneak preview of Carrie and Joan’s new version of “Waiting All Day for Sunday Night” at the link here.

Editorial credit: Debby Wong /